Benefits of JCI Accreditation and Certification

JCI Accreditation

Joint Commission International accredits eight types of health care programs: hospitals, academic medical center hospitals, ambulatory care facilities, clinical laboratories, home care facilities, long term care facilities, medical transport organizations, and primary care centers. Here are more details about some of these accreditation categories.

Academic Medical Center 
JCI defines an academic medical center hospital as any of the following:

  • A medical facility that is integrated with a medical school
  • The principal site for the education of medical students and residents from the medical school
  • A site that conducts academic and/or commercial clinical research trials 

Ambulatory Care Facility
JCI defines an ambulatory care facility as any of the following:  

  • Free-standing medical, dental, and surgical facilities
  • Dialysis facilities
  • Diagnostic radiology centers
  • Outpatient chronic care management facilities
  • Acute care centers

Home Care Facility
JCI standards address best practices for care within a patient’s home, including end-of-life care. Measurable elements of performance cover:

  • All patient-centered care and interactions
  • Safety of the environment
  • Staff qualifications and education

Long Term Care Facility
JCI long term care standards address quality improvement issues for non-acute settings such as:

  • Assisted living facilities
  • Rehabilitation centers
  • Chronic care facilities

Medical Transport Organization
JCI standards address all aspects of emergency and nonemergency transport of patients and apply to public and community-based medical transport organizations associated with hospitals. JCI standards evaluate multiple transport modes including:

  • Emergency treatment and transport services
  • Nonemergency transport services 
  • Public and private ambulance services
  • Air and water medical transport
  • Fire brigade emergency services

Primary Care Center
JCI primary care standards focus on:

  • Community integration
  • Health promotion
  • Disease prevention
  • First-contact medical services
  • ​Linkages to other parts of the health care system

JCI Clinical Care Program Certification

JCI Clinical Care Program Certification (CCPC) is a means for JCI-accredited organizations to further demonstrate their commitment to quality patient care in a specific area of expertise – whether a service or disease. It is their next step towards excellence.

What are the benefits to patients?

A patient who chooses a facility that has received one or more CCPCs can have confidence that the facility has met strict criteria in patient safety, delivery of clinical care, overall patient support, and more. 

For example, if you need a breast cancer specialist or a facility that focuses on children’s asthma, a hospital with a CCPC in those clinical areas may be more beneficial to your care.

Currently, JCI offers the following certifications:

  • Acute Myocardial Infarction (heart-related diseases)
  • Asthma
  • Cancer (all types)
  • Childhood Asthma
  • Chronic Heart Failure
  • Chronic Kidney Disease
  • Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)
  • Diabetes Mellitus (types 1 and 2)
  • End-stage Renal Disease
  • Heart Failure
  • HIV/AIDS Management
  • Joint Replacement (all types)
  • Osteoarthritis of the Knee
  • Outpatient Diabetes
  • Pain Management
  • Palliative Care (all types)
  • Primary Stroke
  • Transplantation (all types)
  • Traumatic Brain Injury